100+ Trophy

This Challenge Trophy was presented by Clé Jeltes in 1985.

The large Trophy is one of Clé Jeltes‘s expertly handcrafted Flying Dutchman half-models .

It is a wooden – made structure representing a FD sailing by spinnaker.

In the past, this Challenge was called “75 + Trophy” and was awarded to the best team (with combined ages of 75 years or more), classified in
the European Championship (or European FD Week).

Now, it is awarded to the first Master team classified overall in the World Championship (combined ages of helmsman and crew over 100 years) .

Besides the Challenge, which passes to the new winner each year, the helmsman and crew receive small wooden replicas to keep.

Since 2008 the two replicas trophies awarded by the IFDCO President, Alberto Baranghi, to the winner, helsman and crew, are a hand made plexiglass coloured pictures, representing a FD sailing by spinnaker.

YearWinner HelmWinner CrewNationalityPlace
1985Enrico AmbrosiDaniele PanzeriSwitzerland
1986Heinz TozkeFrank BaikoGermany
1988SzabolesZsolt DetreHungary
1989Rafael IturriozMark van BemmelSpain/Holland
1990Andrzej IwinskiHenryk BlazkaPoland
1991Andrzej IwinskiHenryk BlazkaPoland
1992Andrzej IwinskiHenryk BlazkaPoland
1993Ian McCrossinJames CookAustraliaTravemunde (GER)
1994Ian McCrossinJames CookAustraliaAdelaide (AUS)
1995Wim Langeslag Peter van KoppenNetherlandsTorbole - Garda Lake (ITA
1996Wim Langeslag Peter van KoppenNetherlandsBalatonfoldvar (HUN)
1997Ian McCrossinJames CookAustraliaSt. Petersburgh - FL (USA)
1998Ian McCrossinJames CookAustraliaDen Oever (NED)
1999Jorgen SchonherrJacob Bojsen-MøllerDenmarkLee on the Solent (GBR)
2000Ian McCrossinJames CookAustraliaDurban (RSA)
2001Jup WandersPeter Van KoppenGermanyGillelejie (DEN)
2002Ian McCrossinJames CookAustraliaTavira - Algarve (POR)
2003Ian McCrossinJames CookAustraliaMelbourne (AUS)
2004Ian McCrossinJames CookAustraliaWarnemunde (GER)
2005Helmut LoetherMichael KlawitterGermanyBalatonfoldvar (HUN)
2006Alberto BarenghiDave EllisItalySt. Petersburgh - FL (USA)
2007Jørgen Bojsen-MøllerJacob Bojsen-MøllerDenmarkMar Menor - Murcia (ESP)
2008Ian McCrossinJames CookAustraliaNapier (NZL)
2009Jørgen Bojsen-MøllerJacob Bojsen-MøllerDenmarkMedemblick (NED)
2010Hideo TayamaAngus ReidNew ZealandCostanta (ROU