Tullio Pizzorno Trophy

The Challenge Trophy was presented at Alassio in 1989 by Mrs. Anna Pizzorno in memory of her husband, crew of Mario Capio (1959 World Champions).

Tullio demonstrated his keen interest in the FD Class in many ways ……most especially in promoting the FD to young sailors.

It is awarded to the first youngest helmsman (under 26 years) classified overall in the World Championship.

The Trophy passes to the new winner each year.

Besides the challenge, since 2008 two trophies are awarded by the IFDCO President, Alberto Barenghi, to the winner, helmsman and crew. The trophies are performed in crystal and show a laser – cut image of the FD.

YearWinner HelmNationalityPlace
1989Markus WieserGermanyAlassio ( ITA)
1990Andreas WillimGermany
1991Willem PotmaNetherlands
1992Willem PotmaNetherlandsCadiz (ESP)
1993Stephan SchurichAustriaTravemunde (GER)
1994Szlabolcs MajthenyiHungaryAdelaide (AUS)
1995Szlabolcs MajthenyiHungaryTorbole (ITA)
1996Szlabolcs MajthenyiHungaryBalatonfoldvar (HUN)
1997Szlabolcs MajthenyiHungarySt. Petersburgh - FL (USA)
1998Tobias FrankGermanyDen Oever (NED)
1999Harold WijgersNetherlandsLee on the Solent (UK)
2000Michael SprangerGermanyDurban (RSA)
2001Christian AltenheinGermanyGillelejie (DEN)
2002Francesco VespasianiItalyTavira - Algarve (POR)
2003Kilian KonigGermanyMelbourne (AUS)
2004Kilian KonigGermanyWarnemunde (GER)
2005Kilian KonigGermanyBalatonfoldvar (HUN)
2006Alistair McCowanAustraliaSt. Petersburgh - FL (USA)
2007Marco SevilaSpainMar Menor - Murcia (ESP)
2008Marco SevilaSpainNapier (NZL)
2009Julius TrippoltAustriaMedemblick (NED)
2010Nicola VespasianiItalyCostanta (ROU)